The Present

– Discard those items from the past for which you really have no use anymore. Much as you like to surround yourself with objects of sentimental value, the time comes when it is necessary to look to the future rather than dwell on the past. Time spent cleaning up and throwing out will release you from the past and allow you to embrace the future. –
When I read this, it reminds me of the book entitled The Present. There’s always a past, the present and a future in our lives. There’s a propotion of time period we take to dwell on our past, enjoy the present or plan for our future. We can only do one thing at a time. As for me, I don’t spend much time planning for the future. However, when I’m supposed to be in the present, I either wished it is like the past or hoped the present would be something better in the future. Usually I might not be enjoying the present situation but when it became my past and whenever I recall back, it is a beautiful memory. It’s not easy to give up my past, mentally or physically as that’s what shaped me into the person I am today. Life is too short and like the saying goes “you can never step into the same river twice”, it’s the same in life! We can never turn back time so every seconds count. That’s the reason why I’m taking the principle to live life as it comes.
Leave a Reply

