A gift

I wasn’t feeling that well yesterday night and lately I felt like my energy has been sucked out of me. I actually feel exhausted but with new volunteers coming in every week, there’s no excuse to be tired. My appetite came back when we went over to Kak Ani’s house for Malay dinner. She cooked Masi Minyak and it was delicious. I thought I wouldn’t feel like eating but I had a second scooping. It wasn’t until later at night that I remembered the Star reporter who arrived today gave me a parcel from a past volunteer, Gim Ean. I opened it up and to my surprise, there was a book! I felt really touched that she actually prepared gifts for the kids and me! It definitely has brightened up my day! Nothing matters more than knowing whatever we do here actually make an impact, be it small or big. Volunteers who came had a great time doing community and conservation work. Hopefully with the knowledge and experience they gained here, they can spread the words around so that more people actually travel responsibly!

A gift from Gim Ean!

Leave a Reply

