Japan – Yokohama

During my stay at Tokyo, Jonene and I went to Yokohama for half a day. Yuka happened to go back to her hometown at Yokohama so I went there to visit her. It was nice to see her again. I was surprised to see her as she had lost so much weight and now she has a 1-year-old boy – Gochan!

I didn’t plan where to visit at Yokohama. We had lunch and just walked around places nearby the train station. As we were just strolling around the city, we walked past a building with a sign that puzzled me! Cup Noodles Museum! I never thought such museum exists. It was closed but I really wonder what I would see inside!  One of the significant buildings we visited was Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse or Yokohama Akarenga Sōko (横浜赤レンガ倉庫). It is a shopping area now but in the past, was a historical custom building with two warehouses.

Yokohama

Yokohama

Jolene and I went to Yokohama Cosmo World. We went up Cosmo Cock 21 which is a giant Ferris wheel and also the world’s largest clock. In the beginning, it was quite a scary way up but the view was amazing. We were in time to watch the sun set from atop. The night scene was better when all the lights lit up.

Cosmo Clock 21

Cosmo Clock 21

Yokohama night view

Yokohama night view

We had dinner with Jolene’s friend, Toni. He brought us Japanese Yaki Tori for dinner. As usual, the restaurant is very small and packed with customers. In one night over a meal, I probably ate more internal parts of an animal than I ever had in my entire life! I guess one part of travelling is to be open about things, people and food. Never try never know. I wouldn’t say I liked everything I tried but it was worth a bite! The bar we went for a drink after had a good view of Yokohama. Toni was very sociable and I had a good night even though I was quite tired by the end of the day.

Dinner with Toni and Jolene

Dinner with Toni and Jolene

Leave a Reply

