2014 – A New Start

5394fad667ae4f68e32bae3587057817

Every time when the year is coming to an end, I can’t help but think back from the beginning until the end of the year to see what I have lived through. For many, 1st January is a day where a new year begins. For me, it is just like every other day, a new day to begin. As Hal Borland quoted “Year’s end is neither an end nor a beginning but a going on, with all the wisdom that experience can instill in us”.

I didn’t make a review of year 2013 because what I did was almost the same in 2012. I spent most of my time working and living on an island so in some way my life in year 2012 and 2013 were similar. However, the difference is I learned to be better from the lessons in 2012.

Just as Buddha said “do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment”. I am a person who lives each day as it goes. It comes naturally to set new year resolutions but I don’t see a point of doing so just because it is a new year. I think it is more importantly to set goals anytime when it is needed and put effort to achieve them.

2014 feels different for me because it is also the year where I start to live in my thirties. I have never planned for years ahead. There might be things I want to achieve but I can’t put them down in words. There are always ups and downs but all I want is just to live a decent life to the fullest. I simply hope 2014 will continue to be either as good as before or even better!

1st of January had passed but the birthday was celebrated earlier. Mum, wish you Happy Birthday and may this year be another amazing year for you!

DSC_0676

Leave a Reply

